Hello world, are you there?

Hibernating BearMy poor little blog has been left a little neglected over the past week. Due to a number of factors I’ve found myself hibernating, completely detached from the world for most of the week and especially the last few days.

What with my hangover last Sunday, the cold I got at the beginning of the week and am still trying to shake, C having Man Flu and me having to look after him, getting my wisdom teeth out on Thursday and the spring-snow we’ve been getting, it’s any wonder I have wanted to hide away in our little cave, under the cosy warmth of our doona/duvet, being completely absorbed by the fictional worlds of books and movies.

Due to pain induced by said cold, wisdom tooth removal and husband’s man flu (the whinging), I have been completely unmotivated to do anything at all. It would be fair to say I dug myself well and truly into a rut. I could barely muster up the energy to go to get the groceries on Saturday (and the shops we need are literally at our doorstep), I haven’t gone for a run in over a week, I’ve barely kept up to date with the blogs I follow and, wait for the shocking part, I haven’t even done a SCRAP of cooking. OK, the odd unadventurous and super easy meal here and there for fear of starving but aside from that, absolutely zilch.

What this has left me with is very little knowledge of what is going on outside in the big bad world and even less inspiration for something to write about. It has also meant that I’ve missed out on at least 3 social occasions which would have launched me straight back into social butterfly-dom, and a number of very important phone calls.

On the plus side, I have managed to not spend money (always a bonus when you’re saving) and to spend a little more time with C this week than usual. I’ve also managed to finish my book and start a new one, begin a new knitting project, and catch up on some missed television.

Alas today was the day that the horrible monster that is Reality finally got me by the claws and dragged me back out into the real world and I must say it wasn’t pretty at first, but it was quite refreshing.

What with saving being the number 1 priority for us this year, and also because I finally have my mojo back and feel up to it, I have decided to go back to pub work a couple of shifts a week. (Insert dramatic music here).

I’m not sure how long it’s been, but it must be almost a year since I’ve been behind a bar and I have gone back to one of my favourite London pubs; Coco Momo in Marlylebone. What I failed to factor in was that Sundays are the busiest days of the week for Cocos and I casually walked in thinking it was going to be nice to ease back into it, catch up with some old colleagues and have a cruisey day, only to be thrown swiftly into the deep end – 2 staff down and no-one who knows how to work the bar properly. With a mass of tickets full of lattes waiting to be made I perched behind the coffee machine and discovered to my delight that I’ve still got the mad coffee making skills. Hello perfect milk! Once brunch was over I also discovered that I am still a wizz at most of the other drinks behind the bar and can whip out the odd cocktail here and there.

It was fun, and it was nice to catch up with old friends, but it certainly wasn’t a walk in the park and it wasn’t even that busy for a Sunday.

Anyway, thankfully now I am back under the duvet, in the warmth of our tiny little London-based cave, snow falling outside, dinner nearly ready and anticipating hubby’s arrival before I have to face the world again tomorrow, the beginning of what looks set to be a very busy week.

I now need all of you to tell me what has been going on in the world, and your lives, over the last week.

Hibernating Bear 2

So I can get back out there making the most this world has to offer, don’t forget to vote!!!

Vote for meVote for meVote for me

4 thoughts on “Hello world, are you there?

  1. The Grumpy Olive says:

    London was the most boring place in this world, trust me. It was freezing cold, and I didn’t leave my duvet either. Imagine the shock this morning at 6 am. Graaaaaawl. I want to be a bear!

  2. Ah now now, don’t be saying nothin’ ’bout my man. I mean, my city. 🙂 My love affair with London started when I was young and got serious about 4 years ago!!! Seriously though, London is an amazing city, there is so much here to do, see, experience and it really is a gorgeous city. It’s just that I wasn’t well and I am fortunate enough to live here so can afford the odd day or week under the duvet! But yes, at times I definitely would love to be a bear!! Thanks for reading!!

Leave a comment