The Pursuit of the Impossible

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

This just happens to be one of my favourite quotes. And as it’s today’s Daily Prompt I thought I’d play along.

I believe in a lot of impossible things. Some of them are only impossible because our minds find it impossible to grasp the possibilities.

At first I believed it impossible that I would ever get through 10 weeks, let alone my whole life without ever having gluten again. But I believe in my ability to achieve the impossible. I set my mind to making the most of a gluten free lifestyle and while there are some things I’m sad to lose from my life, I couldn’t be happier. I thought it would be impossible to ever feel human again before I was told what was wrong, and then one day, after months of hard work, I woke up and felt human again.

I don’t believe in God, or one God, but I do believe in angels. Actually, I believe in the possibility of God, but I don’t believe in religion. I believe the universe is much bigger than our minds can comprehend and I believe that it works in mysterious ways. The sheer size of it is an impossible thing for our minds to grasp. I believe we are connected to the universe spiritually as well as physically. I believe there are other galaxies out there with other planets that have human beings living on them. I believe in aliens. I believe that while there’s no proof, that it’s impossible not to believe something more than us is out there.

I believe in ghosts. I have heard many a compelling story and I believe I’ve seen a ghost or two of my own at  various stages in my life.

I believe in magic. Not necessarily the spells and potions and wands thing, but maybe. Why not? Magical things happen every day, things no-one can explain. Things that are beautiful and wonderful and life changing.

I believe that our imaginations can take us a long way – look at the world we live in today for example. 100 years ago, people would have thought that smartphones were impossible. A million years ago people would have thought cars were impossible. But some people believed in the possibilities of their own imaginations.

I believe that you can achieve the impossible if you try. Maybe not on the first go, and maybe not the way you set out to. Take my entry into the Biggest Baddest Bucket List competition. A round the world trip, all expenses paid, the opportunity to write about your experiences, and $50,000 cash at the end? Impossible right? No, it’s not impossible. It may sound too good to be true, but it’s not impossible. I have had to work hard to get to the amount of votes that I have had so far and in all probability there is no way I will get into the top 5 in just 14 days, considering how far behind I am, but it’s not impossible. And hey, if I don’t become a finalist in this competition, there will be other competitions and I will still get to the countries I want to visit. Maybe not in the next year, but I will. That is the impossible thing I believe in. That one day I’ll visit everywhere on my list… or at least die trying!

You can help me achieve the impossible by voting right now, as many times as you can and on as many social media platforms as you are linked to. Help me achieve one impossible thing this year!

Just click on the badges below and use the green vote box that looks like this:

vote box

Help me get about 10 times the amount of votes I currently have, because as you can see I need them!

**********************************************************************

Vote for meVote for meVote for me

11 thoughts on “The Pursuit of the Impossible

Leave a Reply

