Gluten Free Spiced Bramley Apple Crumble

One of C’s favourite desserts is apple crumble and custard. It is a common thing in our house to hear him starting to crave this particular dessert on any given evening. The craving is usually accompanied by moaning and the moaning is usually accompanied by serious disappointment that it is not readily to hand.

As an extra treat for our pre-anniversary dinner, and as I was finally in the cooking mood, I decided to take on a gluten free version of C’s much loved dessert and see how it would go.

I combined two different recipes to get to a result that I must say I was quite pleased with. I stewed the apples with some citrus fruit and spices, leaving the kitchen – nay the whole house – smelling like Christmas. I’m not one to start getting into the Christmas mood too prematurely, but as it was cold and wet and miserable outside, I must admit – it was heaven!!!

The one failing, was that as I’d never even made a normal crumble before, I was a little unsure about quantities and I ended up with a MASSIVE crumble. Meant for 2 people. A casserole dish size one.

The worst part of that being that now that C is in Ireland for the week, I’ve been left with the leftovers and I have just HAD to eat it for dessert each night, rather than seeing it go to waste. (Did I say failing? Maybe I meant win!)

So here is what I did…

Prep Time: about 45mins (it took me a while to peel the apples)

Cooking time: 45 – 60 mins

Gluten Free

Yield: This would most certainly feed at least 6 people!

Ingredients:

For the stewed apples:

5 Bramley apples

150gr caster sugar

Juice of 1 orange + grated zest

Juice of 1 lemon + grated zest

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

For the crumble topping:

300gr GF flour (I used Dove’s Farm Plain White GF Flour)

150gr  light muscado sugar

150gr butter, softened

Directions for the apples:

1. Peel and core apples and cut into small chunks (about 1inch by 1inch)

2. Measure out all your ingredients so they’re ready to go

3. Heat the sugar in a large pot, bringing it to boil (yes, just own it’s own with nothing else). The sugar will melt down to a liquid, which if taken off the heat will turn to toffee. Boil it until it’s a pale amber colour

4. Add the lemon and orange zest and the juice of both, stirring

5. Add the apples and stir into the mixture

6. Add the spices and stir and cook for about 3mins

7. Partly cover the pot to let the apples stew a bit, checking on it regularly and stirring (every couple of mins)

8. Take it off the heat before the apples stew completely – ie while there are still some chunks in the mixture

Directions for the crumble:

1. Sift the flour into a large bowl

2. Cut the butter into chunks and add to the flour

3. Mix with your hands until combined and dough-like

4. Add in the sugar and combine by hand. You should have a pretty lumpy, biscuity mixture

Bringing it together:

1. Put the apples into the casserole dish and spread evenly around

2. Top with crumble mix

3. Put in oven for 35-45mins

I served ours with freshly made custard because in C’s words ‘you just can’t have crumble without custard’. While I would normally disagree with him because I quite like the mix of hot crumble with cold ice cream, (as opposed to hot crumble and hot custard), it is his favourite dessert and at the end of the day how can an Aussie argue with a Brit over Bramley apple crumble?!

 

 

Leave a Reply

