Grilled Chicken and Marinated Figs

Well well, look who’s found her way back into the kitchen.

After spending most of Sunday morning lying in bed drinking coffee and poring over cookbooks (one of my favourite lazy-day rituals) I decided to do some experimental cooking.

C had been working all day and as it was the night before our wedding anniversary and although we were heading out the next evening, I decided to make a delicious home-cooked meal that we could enjoy with a side of interesting conversation, as a sort of pre-celebration celebration. So I got the bubbles in and went to the grocer to get some fresh vegetables and wandered around the shops a bit looking for inspiration to see what else I could make.

While in the grocer I saw some fresh figs and recalled seeing a recipe for a chicken and fig dish earlier that day. Said recipe actually called for Worcestershire Sauce, amongst other things, which is not glutard-friendly as it contains barley. I decided to sort of make my own marinade loosely based on what I know goes into Worcestershire sauce and then a few extras.

It was completely experimental as although I sort of know the basis for a Worcester sauce I don’t actually know how to make it, nor the quanities and I didn’t even have all of the right things. But, the result was actually a delicious blend of flavours that went incredibly well together much to my surprise, and C’s!

I have always matched parma ham / proscuito with figs but never chicken, and I was delighted to discover how well matched they actually are! C generally avoids figs as he’s never really been sure if he liked them or not but he continued to express his amazement at (and appreciation for) the flavours all through the meal, which I count as pretty darn successful.

Prep Time: 3 hours

Cooking Time: 25mins

Gluten and Dairy Free

What you’ll need:

3-4 skinless chicken breasts (actually skin on would probably be nice too)

4 fresh, ripe figs

For the chicken marinade:

2 tablespoons fish sauce

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon mustard powder

1 tsp caster sugar

Juice of two lemons

a generous splash of hot chilli sauce (eg Tabasco)

For the fig marinade:

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

What to do:

Mix up the marinade in a bowl. Make some shallow cuts in the chicken to ensure that the marinade gets all the way through and then put the chicken breasts into the marinade mixture, cover and leave for 2.5 hours (in the fridge).

For the figs, about 20-30mins before you’re ready to cook the chicken, cut the figs in half lengthways and then cut each half into 3-4 portions.

Mix the honey and red wine vinegar together in a bowl and then transfer the figs to the bowl and marinate for about 20mins.

When you’re ready to cook, preheat the grill to high.

Transfer the chicken into a baking tray and drizzle remaining marinade all over them.

Grill the chicken breasts for approx 6-10mins on each side, until cooked. You’ll get a lovely tender breast as they sort of poach in the marinade. They won’t brown that much depending on how close you get them to the hot grill, but once you add the figs they’ll look much more appetising.

Take them out and cover with foil.

The put the figs on a tray (and drizzle any leftover marinade over them) and put them under the grill just long enough to warm through – for me this took about 3mins. Do not overcook them.

DONE! I served this with sweet potato, roasted in coconut oil and lightly grilled asparagus with a dash of balsamic over them. (And when I say a dash, I literally mean a dash, not too much or you’ll overpower the other flavours).

Oh and I served it with pink bubbles, but I’d say a nice glass of white wine would also do the trick!

 

One thought on “Grilled Chicken and Marinated Figs

Leave a Reply

