Just what the Dr ordered

Oh man did I need a weekend like the one I just had!

I’m sure you’re sick to death of hearing how busy I’ve been of late, but it’s been crazy and it’s certainly been taking it’s toll.

I got to the point where I was so stressed I lost my appetite, I was on the verge of bursting into tears over a too-hot coffee and I was so exhausted that I couldn’t even cycle to work without incident. (I may or may not have fallen off my bike for no apparent reason in front of loads of people because my foot slipped and I wasn’t paying attention).

I decided this weekend to pay attention to those warning signs and completely switch off. It was tough, because I kept getting the very strong urge to turn on my work computer and check my emails, and try to get ahead of myself for this week because I know I’ve got so much to do. But I just had to. I knew if I didn’t remove myself completely for a full weekend then I would burn out.

So, this weekend was spent in blissful relaxation mode. I slept in both days until 10 am (completely unheard of for me), I watched movies, I read my book, I got my nails done, had a massage, went for a long walk, cooked, slept some more, caught up with some friends, did some writing, cooked, slept, read more of my book and watched more television. It was amazing and exactly what I needed.

I’m still tired, but I’m feeling so much more relaxed, and depsite wishing that this lovely weekend I’m having could last forever, I’m feeling recharged enough to take it all on again tomorrow .

But first, for a nice long relaxing, home-cooked meal with my hubby who unfortunately had quite the opposite weekend to me.

Leave a Reply

