Healthiest Muffins

So these, these are definitely the healthiest muffins I’ve ever made. They are also the quickest and easiest muffins I’ve ever made. A real record in my eyes. Also, they are vegan and gluten free.

I had some overripe bananas that really needed to be used or thrown out and the rest was all a little bit experimental to be honest, vaguely basing them off a recipe that my friend had given me and using what I had in the kitchen cupboard.

banana oat muffins

They taste good, but you should be warned, they are really not sweet at all and you can definitely taste the flax meal… something I’m still not so sure I actually like all that much. That said, they are pretty tasty and guilt free so it’s win win really. Mr O has yet to taste them so I’m not sure what his feedback is.

Here’s what I did…

Ingredients (Makes 12 small muffins):

1/2 cup groundnut oil (I presume any nut oil would work)

1/4 cup agave syrup

3/4 cup almond milk (I’m sure any dairy free milk would work)

3 ripe bananas

2 tbsp chia seeds

1 cup certified GF oats

3/4 cups almond flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1 tbsp flax meal /ground flax seed

3/4 tsp bicarb

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 C, line a muffin tray

2. Put all ingredients into a blender and mix until combined and the mixture is relatively smooth

3. Place into lined muffin tray and bake for 30mins

The result:

A healthy muffin that is vegan, GF, packed full of protein and fiber and smells like Christmas. And very little washing up!

What I’d do differently:

I think I’d probably reduce the amount of flax in it as the taste really comes through. Also, I might substitute the agave with maple as I think this would make them that touch sweeter and also really complement the banana flavour much better.

muffin healthiest muffins ever

 

 

Note added later: I discovered that these taste even better the next day, and also the day after the day after. As they are vegan they do last a long while. But the thing I noticed after leaving them overnight is that the flavour of the bananas comes through much more obviously and the taste of the flax is much less obvious. DELISH!

Leave a Reply

