Friends, wedding, sunshine, food, laughter, drinks = Extreme Happiness

The last few days of my time spent in Brisbane were really special to me. My gorgeous friend Amber and her now fiance hosted me at their place and really looked after me. Every morning I woke up to a cooked breakfast and a hot cup of tea before they had to go about their respective days while I had the luxury of lounging or wandering around, drinking coffee and catching up on my reading.

The last few days were spent catching up with loads of friends over various dinners, lunches, manicures, drinks and of course all the wedding stuff like the rehearsal, the wedding itself and the post wedding BBQ. It was so nice to catch up with everyone and be a part of such a special weekend and it was yet another reminder of how much I am missing while I am travelling around the world! Not that travelling around the world is all that hard or bad! 🙂

It’s a really beautiful thing to be priveleged enough to be able to attend the wedding of a friend, and an even more beautiful thing to be attending the wedding of two friends.

This was of course the reason behind my trip and it was well and truly worth it. My two lovely friends who tied the knot over the weekend have been together since high school and are so perfect for each other it’s unreal. They are wonderful people and amazing friends and I am so happy to have been a part of it having known them for a few years now and having spent a lot of time with them in London when they lived there too.

They couldn’t have asked for a better day either. We woke up to blue sky and a shining sun and the day went off without a hitch. The wedding was classy yet chilled and laid back, gorgeous yet informal and not too rigid. It was perfect and I am so glad I was there to witness it. The ceremony was held in a school chapel and I had to fight back quite a few tears when I saw the girls coming down the aisle and especially when Katie came down with her Dad on her arm. The tears couldn’t be stopped as they were saying their vowels though!

The reception was held at The Summit restaurant on Mount Coo-tha in Brisbane. It was a fantastic venue with views that looked right over Brisbane as well as brilliant service and delicious food. The staff there were on the ball, but not in the way and they did a really good job of making the day as special and hassle free as possible.

I don’t want to say too much about the couple or go into too many details about the wedding considering this is a public blog and I haven’t asked their permission so we’ll just leave it as – it was a beautiful, fun, delightful day that I thought went really well and reflected who they are and what they mean to each other and their friends and family.

Being so far away most of the time makes you really welcome these rare opportunities and probably means you end up gushing about things a little too much. But I seem to always be missing out on something big for one of my friends. For all the weddings I have been able to attend there have been about 5 others I’ve missed. I’ve also missed engagement parties, hens nights, baby showers, 30th birthday parties, housewarming parties and various other things, so for me this weekend was pretty special because not only did I manage to finally get to a wedding of two people who mean the world to me, but it also meant I could catch up with loads of people in a perfect setting – when everyone is happy and filled with love and generosity and good will.

The following day we went to the newlyweds’ house and had a BBQ and a few drinks to recover from the massive day and night before and say congrats again, which was a perfect ending to a perfect weekend. It was really tough to leave at the end of the day as I just wished the weekend would never be over and also it hit me that it was the last time I would see most of the people until the next time I am here in Aus. The only thing that helped me through it was the knowledge that in a few hours I would be seeing my family and spending time in my childhood home.

The amazing couple and myself...

Table buddies

BBQ fun

3 thoughts on “Friends, wedding, sunshine, food, laughter, drinks = Extreme Happiness

Leave a Reply

