Random Vegetable Soup

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted a recipe which is a little on the shocking side really. (The last one was Feb!!) Despite the fact that yesterday I was feeling grateful for the fact I didn’t have to cook when I got home I realised on my way there that I needed to use up the vegies in the house before they turned and also needed some lunches for the rest of the week. So, I embarked on a random soup.

Soups are good because they don’t require too much energy (I had close to zero) and are always a good comfort food when you’re sick like me. Although a lot of the food blogs I follow are starting to post about salads it is still bitterly cold here so I think a soup is rather fitting.

This one was a slight variation on my spinach, chickpea and pumpkin soup that I make quite a lot but the pumpkin I had was small and I needed to use the carrots we had too so it turned into more of a vegetable soup than anything else.

When I say ‘small’ pumpkin in the recipe below, apologies I can’t be more specific. We don’t have weighing scales but I can tell you that the pumpkin was a little bigger than a baseball and was one of the less dense pumpkins you seem to get over here – pale in colour, pretty soft in texture and light in weight. I’m still getting used to the range of pumpkin types over here and I’m never too sure what the inside will be like when I cut into it.

pumpkin and carrot

See the pale stuff on the left? That’s the pumpkin.

This was very much a freestyle soup because I was using things up but also trying to add in some texture and density to the soup as I like mine thick rather than brothy, hence the addition of the 3 carrots. It worked out surprisingly good – not as good as when I use a decent pumpkin but lots of flavour, pretty filling and a nice bit of spice to it which was welcome due to the cold I have at the moment.

Here goes…

Ingredients:

– 2 Tbsp butter (unless you want dairy free in which case an extra Tbsp of coconut oil)
– 1 Tbsp coconut oil
– 3 cloves of garlic
– 1/2 a red chilli (or a full one but I only had half in my fridge)
– 2cm chunk of ginger, roughly chopped
– 1 small red onion
– 1 small weird pumpkin, chopped into small pieces
– 3 carrots, peeled and chopped into small pieces
– 1 bay leaf
– 2 cans chick peas (800gr in total)
– 2 bunches spinach (soaked)
– 2-3 pints homemade vegetable stock (depending on how watery/thick you like it and how much you want)
– 1 tsp each of mustard powder and chilli powder (I put these in the stock I brewed as opposed to the soup itself but if you’re using store bought stock or something else then I’d add these in as well)

Directions:

1. Melt the butter and coconut oil in a pot and add in the garlic, onion, ginger and chilli and cook for a minute or two on a medium heat

2. Add the pumpkin and carrot to the pan and cook for about 5-7 mins, stirring occasionally

3. Add the chickpeas, stock and bay leaf and simmer covered for about 25-30mins

homemade stock

4. Check to see if the carrot is soft enough to mash and if not, cook for a further 10mins or so

5. Remove the bay leaf and mash the chunks up with a potato masher to thicken the soup or transfer to a blender if you like a really thick, smooth and creamy soup (I generally do but didn’t want to add to the washing up in this instance)

6. Add the chopped spinach and cook for about 2 mins

7. Serve and enjoy, or let cool and transfer to Tupperware for your lunches as I did!

I always hate soup pics - they never look as good as the soup tastes, but trust me this one was good!

I always hate soup pics – they never look as good as the soup tastes, but trust me this one was good!

Leave a Reply

