Come Dine With Me…

We have made friends with the people who live in the flat upstairs, which in my London experience is actually quite rare given that most people don’t seem to know their flatmates let alone their neighbours (slight exaggeration but in extreme cases true). We decided as a way of getting to know each other and to make sure we had time to all catch up, that we’d take it in turns to cook dinner for each other – a bit of a nod to Come Dine With Me.

On Monday night it was my turn which was slightly nerve-wracking because it has been quite competitive and the bar was set pretty high from the outset. Colin made some awesome Caribbean food for his, and Joanna cooked a delicious piece of salmon accompanied by a few Ottolenghi inspired dishes which were all mouth-wateringly good.

Being the perfectionist and over-achiever that I am, I was pretty keen to make sure I did something really yummy and something that would look quite impressive on the night. But being a weeknight I didn’t want to use any recipes that would mean I had to cook for hours and we’d eat really late. I have made the stuffed peppers before and knew they looked quite nice when they are displayed on a plate, and seeing as we’ve been getting into the Indian cooking of late decided to stick with the theme (with the exception of dessert). So one of the courses I’d made before and two were completely experimental.

Here’s how it went…

Starter

Lamb Boti with a Mint Yoghurt Dressing

Main

Maharajah Indian Stuffed Peppers

Side

Green beans with butter and garlic

Dessert

Homemade GF Blueberry Chocolate Brownies with vanilla ice cream

 

I was absolutely GUTTED at myself but I forgot to take pictures of the finished product each time I served them up. A mistake I make often when cooking because I tend to just want to get tucked straight in. So I have a few pics of the prep and luckily an old pic from the last time I made the peppers…

Lamb Boti

This was something new I hadn’t done before but they looked fairly easy and I could do some of the prep the night before so they’d be pretty straightforward on the night.

Ingredients:

350 lean lamb meat cut into 1 inch chunks
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 inch piece of ginger, grated
2 tbsp chopped corriander
1 tsp tumeric
1 tsp ground corriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp garam masala
juice of half a lemon
1 tbsp oil
1 tsp salt

Method:
1. Put the lamb in a deep bowl and put in all the ingredients except the yoghurt, oil and salt

2. Stir all the pieces so that the meat is covered in spices, add the oil and yogurt and mix well. Cover and marinate overnight in the fridge

3. Remove the meat from the fridge about 30mins before you want to cook it, sprinkle salt on it and stir through and then place on pre-soaked skewers.

3. Pre-heat the oven to 230° C or gas mark 8. Cook the lamb for about 20-25 minutes, turning once and spreading any remaining marinade over the lamb.

4. Serve with the mint yoghurt dressing.

Lamb in marinade

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mint Yoghurt Dressing

This was DIVINE, and I made it the night before as well which allowed all of the flavours to go through. We had enough left over that it could accompany the main which worked out really well.

Place all of the following ingredients in a bowl and mix well:

– 150ml plain yoghurt
– 1 tsp mint sauce
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp chilli powder
– 1/2 tsp garam masala
– 1/2 tsp caster sugar
– 2 tsp chopped mint

Dressing

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maharajah Indian Stuffed Peppers

A firm favourite in our house, this recipe comes from the Supercharged Food cookbook and can be found online here. The only things I do differently is I use fresh tomatoes instead of tinned, I use about twice the amount of chilli and I use about a cup of uncooked quinoa, when the recipe says 1 cup cooked. It always makes way more than I need to fill the peppers so even with twice the number of peppers I didn’t need twice the amount of beef mix.

Finished peppers

GF Blueberry Chocolate Brownies

This recipe was adapted from the one found on Frugal Feeding’s website so I won’t take any of the credit but here is my version…

Ingredients:
100gr butter
1/2 cup cocoa powder
80gr organic dark chocolate
2 eggs
pinch salt
just shy of 1 cup muscovado sugar
1/3 GF self raising flour
1 tsp xanthum gum150gr blueberries

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and grease and line small baking tin
  2. Melt together butter and cocoa powder and then add the chocolate and keep on heat until all combined and smooth (and delicious looking)
  3. Beat eggs, sugar and salt until frothy and then add the melted chocolate mixture
  4. Fold flour and xanthum gum into the mixture until fully combined
  5. Gently add in the blueberries
  6. Spread evenly into the pan and bake for no longer than 25mins

YUMM!!

One thought on “Come Dine With Me…

Leave a Reply

