Mon’s Chana

This delightful recipe was shared with me by a friend of mine. We used to work together and she would bring it in as her lunch sometimes, filling the office with the lovely smell of spices and making my mouth water with jealousy. Especially when the days Mon would bring it in, I would often have a small salad of sub-par standard as my lunch, scrapped together from the leftovers of the previous night’s dinner! Well that’s how I remember it anyway, and I’m sticking to my story!

The great thing about this recipe is it’s easy, especially if you’ve already got the spices to hand. It’s also pretty quick, it’s healthy (and even more so if you don’t have rice with it) and it’s delicious!! It’s a great thing to have in winter because it’s warming but not too stodgy and it also works well as something you can easily re-heat at work. What more could you want??

I never imagined being able to make something like this before Mon shared her recipe with me, Indian spices were a bit of an enigma to me, and I always felt a little overwhelmed at how many you needed, but actually it’s really simple.. and gluten free to boot!!

Ingredients

  • Medium sized onion
  • A chunk of ginger – around 4-5cm in length
  • Two cloves of garlic
  • 6 small fresh tomatoes chopped, (Mon’s recipe actually calls for one can of chopped tomatoes but I use fresh so I can avoid additives after my sugar, dairy and gluten free diet last year)
  • One can of chick peas
  • Teaspoon of tumeric
  • Teaspoon of ground coriander
  • Half a teaspoon of garam masala
  • 1 teaspoon of red chilli powder (Mon’s recipe says a 1/4 or a 1/2 but we like it extra spicy!)
  • Teaspoon of salt (only need this if you buy chick peas in water as opposed to salted water)
  • Four tablespoons of coconut oil (Mon’s recipe says seasame but I use coconut for health reasons)

Method

1.  Dice the onion, ginger and garlic and wizz them in a food processor or blender so that the mixture either becomes paste or at least is chopped into tiny, fine bits.

2. Heat the oil in the pan and on a low / medium heat.

3. Add the onion, ginger and garlic mixture and heat.

4. Add the indian spices to the mixture (tumeric, coriander, garam masala, red chilli powder) and salt if you’re using chick peas in water not salt water. Mix all together and you’ll see it turns a yellowy / orange colour and starts to smell AMAZING.

5. Add the chopped tomatoes and allow to simmer for about 5-10 mins. The timing here depends how well done you want your tomatoes and it’s really a personal preference. If you use canned tomatoes you only need to simmer for about 3 mins.

6. Add the chickpeas, mix together and lower the heat as low as it can go.

7. Cover the pot and leave for about 30-45mins, checking every 10 mins or so to make sure nothing is sticking to the bottom.

8 After about 30 – 45 mins serve!  It should be a slightly watery, more chunky mixture. Serve with some chopped corriander and on rice if you are partial to rice like my dear husband, but equally you can have this on it’s own or with some flatbreads if you’re not gluten intolerant like me!

I have made this so many times that I never remember to take pictures of it, so apologies there, but I’ve found a couple online that show how it should look in theory…

(Thanks Mon!!)

chana 2

5 thoughts on “Mon’s Chana

  1. I just love chana’s , the only difference is that we go for chickpeas firstly soaked in water overnight and then boiled. The best part is that you can eat them with any sort of bread or even rice.

Leave a Reply

