My Blog

When I was little, I wanted to be a writer. When I was a little older, I wanted to be a journalist. And when I had finished uni and started working, and after a brief year or so in journalism, I realised I wanted to be in PR. I guess you could say I’m living my dream.

I originally started this blog as a way of keeping in touch with my family and friends once I moved overseas. At first I was absolutely terrible at remembering to update it, and let months go by without so much as a few words being typed. By the time I got around to sitting in front of the computer to update it, I felt overwhelmed by how much I felt I had to catch everyone up on, and I ended up putting an update into the ‘too-hard’ basket.

I re-discovered my passion for writing late in 2011 and decided to get back into the blog. Even then, it was mostly to keep in touch because I found writing one blog post was easier than writing loads of different emails saying relatively the same thing. It was also a little about capturing some of the amazing experiences I’ve had over here in London, and during my travels around Europe, so I can look back at them later and remember where I’ve been, what I did and how it all made me feel. Now, this blog is so much more to me than that. I realised there is a whole community of bloggers out there. In discovering the ‘blogosphere’ as it’s so fondly called, I discovered a wonderful new world of great writers, interesting people and a strange type of ‘friend’. I have a few blogs that I love to read, and I feel as though I’ve started to get to know the people who write them, even though I’ve never met them in ‘real’ life.

Now, I am using my blog to try to develop my writing skills and hopefully one day achieve that lifelong dream of becoming a professional writer. Now, I admit, I am obsessed with my stats and looking for ways to get my blog seen by more people. I am constantly on the search for inspiration, by way of other blogs, the world around me and the life I lead. I am learning how to better use WordPress functionality and I while I still think the majority of my audience is made up of people who probably feel they have to read it because they know me personally, I have started to build a wider audience. I can see that people from all over the world have visited my blog, even just once or twice, and I have a few faithful followers, which is encouraging to say the least. I now see it as a challenge and something to keep getting better at.

I never imagined that this would become something I am so passionate about, but I am addicted and although there is a certain level of vanity involved in writing a blog, I am glad I’m doing it. Even if my biggest fan is still my Mum.

In case you’re interested, the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for my blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The new Boeing 787 Dreamliner can carry about 250 passengers. This blog was viewed about 1,400 times in 2012. If it were a Dreamliner, it would take about 6 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Leave a Reply

