What’s all the fuss about?

I’m not quite sure how this has happened to someone like me – avid book reader, film lover and absorber of popular culture, but it has. I have managed to get through an entire 28 years of life having never seen a Bond film. Amazing isn’t it? 23 Bond films later and I still hadn’t seen a single one! It wasn’t something I actually tried not to do either – like I said, I’m not quite sure how it happened, but every Bond book and Bond movie has completely passed me by. I’m a little ashamed to admit it to be honest.

I don’t know if it’s because having never jumped on the bandwagon I just wasn’t interested or if it’s because I didn’t really feel like I was missing out. It’s amazing really how much ‘Bond’ has filtered into my psyche. Purely through popular culture osmosis I have picked up the Bond theme tune, I’ve always known who Miss Moneypenny and M were, I’ve always known the ‘shaken not stirred’ quote, I’ve always known how Bond introduces himself, I’ve recognised the down the barrel of the gun credits, I’ve always known that Bond movies, and the character himself, embody those timeless subjects sex, violence and style. So maybe I just didn’t think I was missing anything. I got the general jist and that’s all I needed right?

The current Bond film has had so much PR surrounding it and has been the main topic of conversations around the proverbial water coolers for the last few months, so I thought it was about time I saw what all the fuss was about. C was really keen to see Skyfall so being the good wife that I am, and not having anything against Bond films, we went along last night.

To be honest I was expecting to be wowed! I guess it’s all the hype and all the many faces transformed into pure shock when I’ve broken the news that I’ve never seen a Bond film that made me think it was going to be mind blowing. It wasn’t. It wasn’t crap either, don’t get me wrong, and I’m more than happy to see a few others and see what everyone is talking about, but it wasn’t MIND BLOWING. It didn’t stun me, or wow me or any of those things. It had all the things a good action movie needs – an awesome villain, a few great car chases, an impressive cast, obvious big budget, stylish and loveable main character, a love interest, a bit of humour and lots of fighting but it wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen and certainly not the best action movie. Perhaps there were a few references I totally missed, still being a Bond virgin but overall… I have to admit I was a little underwhelmed. Maybe I just don’t get it.

I know it’s a really sad thing to admit, and I know I am letting down western society in some ways by not even understanding and appreciating the Bond culture but I’m here to be honest and the honest truth is… I really don’t see what all the fuss is about.

One thought on “What’s all the fuss about?

Leave a Reply

