Lazy long weekends, gluten free scones and pottering around!

While most normal people have husbands/partners who work the same hours as them, I have a husband who pretty much never gets a long weekend off particularly if the bank holiday falls on a Monday. So this long weekend saw me with a lot of spare time on my hands, with most people I knew away for mini-breaks and the others working or doing other things.

London was quieter than normal, which was a nice change, and because it was rainy I took the opportunity to chill out and have a nice big rest. C did have one day off so we hung out yesterday with some mates and did a pub-crawl around Angel, which was lots of fun and so nice to be able to share our new area with friends.

But aside from that, I did things like cleaning (boring), reading, watching movies, drinking wine or tea (depending on the time of day), getting my haircut and my nails done, eating delicious food, online shopping and generally just pottering around. And (sadly) I have to admit – it was bliss!!! It has made me think that perhaps I’d make a brilliant housewife. 🙂

This weekend also saw me doing some more gluten-free baking. For attempt number two I tried gluten free scones and added some cinnamon chips. For those that don’t know, cinnamon chips are the best things since sliced bread (in my opinion), another American treat courtesy of my lovely American friends! They really make a difference to the outcome of the scones.

I was going to try one of the recipes off the Doves Farm Foods website, where I found a whole bunch of gluten free products, tips and recipes, but realised at crunch time that I didn’t have any icing sugar and as I didn’t want to risk substituting caster sugar for icing sugar I shopped around a bit for a suitable recipe. I found this recipe online and it’s turned out pretty well.

It makes about 8 scones so it’s a nice amount. With there being only two of us there is usually no great call for a big batch of anything because even though I thoroughly enjoy baking I don’t thoroughly enjoy the baking induced guilt or the extra weight that comes with it. And as much as Colin likes my cooking, he does eventually reach a point where he simply can’t eat anymore… yes I realise this fact is very hard to believe.

My very reliable critic said the following: ‘Yum, these are brilliant, delicious’ – a review I have to say I was quite happy with.

I recommend using this recipe when you are expecting guests to join you in the devouring process, unless you think you can eat all 8, as they are best straight out of the oven while they’re still warm! They are still ok the next day though – a fact I proved to myself over breakfast this morning!

Only thing I would suggest is potentially using a bit more butter, as they are slightly on the crumbly side, but not too much. Gluten free baked goods do have a rep for being slightly drier than most other baked things and one thing a lot of cooks suggest is to add Xanthan Gum but as I am not too well versed in the use of it and required amounts I’m not even going to begin to suggest it at this point!

Anyway, the recipe was as follows:

Ingredients:

–      2 cups gluten-free self-raising flour

–      1 level tsp. bicarb soda (the recipe actually calls for gluten free baking powder but I didn’t have any so had to make do with bicarb)

– 1 tsp. xanthum gum

–      50g (1¾ oz.) butter

–      ¼ cup (1¾ oz.) caster sugar

–      1 medium egg

–      150ml (¼ pint) milk

–      Beaten egg, to glaze

–      1-2tbsp granulated sugar, for sprinkling

–      Handful cinnamon chips

Method:

1. Set the oven to gas mark 7 or 220°C.

2. Sift the flour and bicarb into a bowl.

3. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs

4. Stir in the sugar.

5. Lightly beat together the egg and milk. Add this to the flour mixture and beat to give a smooth consistency. It will be thick and heavy like a dough

6. Add the cinnamon chips (as many as you fancy) and stir in (don’t beat them)

7. Scoop 7-9 mounds of the mixture on to the lined baking sheet with an ice-cream scoop or similar tool.

8. Brush some egg over the top of each and sprinkle over some granulated sugar.

9. Bake the scones in the centre of the oven for 15-18 mins or until they are a light-golden colour.

10. Usually I’d recommend serving plain scones with jam and clotted cream, but with the cinnamon chips all you really need is butter.

11. ENJOY

One thought on “Lazy long weekends, gluten free scones and pottering around!

Leave a Reply

