Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

About five weeks ago now I found out I am gluten intolerant. The news was a little devastating at the time, and I am still getting my head around it. So many things I love eating that I can’t have anymore, no more beer, no more bread, no more a lot of things! And so many things I have to be careful of because I didn’t think it even had gluten in it, like soy sauce and other condiments.

One of the things that really hurt was the fact I love to bake, and all my favourite tried and tested recipes happen to involve normal wheat flour. I have invested in a few gluten free cookbooks and tried to pep myself up for giving it a go but I haven’t been too keen as yet.

So yesterday, I made my first attempt at gluten free baking. As most of the gluten free recipes call for a combination of a bunch of flours I don’t have in my kitchen I cheated a little and used a Jamie Oliver cookie recipe and substituted the flour for the gluten free plain flour I managed to get over here. I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out given I’ve read that often gluten free flour can mean your recipes are drier than normal, but I think the huge amounts of butter and the use of peanut butter chips in this recipe helped combat this because these are oh so good!

The peanut butter chips, courtesy of my lovely American friends who brought them back for me, melted a bit in the mixture, before they went in the oven because I was using hot butter and it was a warm day but the biscuits ended up REALLY peanut buttery which was awesome and I just added a couple of extras to the tops so you can see them.

I tested them out on C who loves to be my food critic and who can compare them to my other baking triumphs and losses and he approved too. Always a man of many words, his review was, simply: ‘yummy’! But I could tell they really were by the fact he ate about 3 in one go and there was a lot of mmms and ahhhs as he went.

Attempt number one = success!

Now we just need to eat all 25 of them, but I don’t think we’ll have much trouble with C on the case!

One thought on “Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

