Happily Ever After?

Once again, the Daily Prompt seems to have an insight into my life and my mind. Today’s prompt requests a response to the thought ‘Happily Ever After’, whether or not you’re living that life, and if not, what it would take to get there.

Ok, let’s look at the ‘Happily Ever After’ question for a moment. My 16 year old self would have said ‘one day I want to live in London, I want to have a good career, I want to find someone who will love me and who I can love and care for in return and I want to travel the world.’ My 16 year old self probably also wanted to be a writer, and by that I mean a published writer with a book and all.

So… am I living that life? Well yes in some ways…

  • Living in London? Check
  • A good career? Check – although I’m definitely not where I thought I would be
  • A writer? No, but does a blog count?
  • Married to wonderful man? Check, although he has his moments
  • Well travelled? Check, but I want to do more

Living in London

Living in London is amazing. I love this city and I consider it a home. It has helped shape who I am and I am a better person for the experience of living here. That said, it has not always been easy, and it has certainly not always been as glamourous and shiny as I expected it to be. Moving away from everything you know is hard. Having no money is hard. Navigating your way around new systems (legal, political, social, medical) is hard. Meeting new people and finding where you fit is hard.

Would I change any of it? Hell no.

A good career

Work is interesting, it’s what I set out to do, it’s a part of who I am. That doesn’t mean I’ve cracked it – it has not been an easy road to get where I am, and I’m not where I wanted to be / thought I’d be by this point. It’s tough.

Would I change any of it? Some, yes, but I’ve learned from the bad experiences and setbacks too.

A writer

Well, I write things for a living and I write my blog for me (and you). I’ll get there one day. And if not, I don’t care, so long as my stats keep rising. :)

Would I change any of it? Occasionally, but overall probably not. Just do more of it.

Married to a wonderful man

Marriage is tough. Worth it most of the time, but tough. We’ve been married 18months but we’ve been living together for 4 years. You know, the kind of living together that’s a bit like a marriage – same bank account, shared bills, shared life. It’s hard work.

Yes, in our love story, I am living happily ever after, but it’s not all fairy lights and princesses and beautiful dresses. It’s something you work at, constantly learning about each other, constantly setting new goals, constantly sharing new dreams, constantly talking about ‘what’s next’.

It can be hard work, but it’s not a chore – it’s also wonderful to have someone to share a life with. It’s fun to share dreams and to work together to achieve life goals. It’s nice to have someone to come home to, to share jokes with, to share meals with, to have a good time with.

Would I change any of it? Probably not the best day to ask me that question, but no not really…One or two things perhaps. haha. Seriously though – no.

Well travelled

Yeh definitely so far. I’ve been to loads of places. I’ve cherished every moment of travelling; the good, the bad and the ugly. But there is SO MUCH MORE I WANT TO DO!!!! I could travel for a lifetime.

Would I change any of it? Not in a million years – except to do more and more and more.

The fact of the matter is, when you achieve one dream, you dream another. When you reach one goal, you set another, when you aim high and get there, you aim higher. We are on a constant search for happiness and life isn’t as rosy and as beautiful and perfect as it all seems when you’re imagining it at 16. It’s tough, it’s wonderful, it’s beautiful, it’s inspiring, but it’s also ever changing… so is there really ever a moment that you say: ‘Yep, I’m there’?

Overall though – yes I am certainly living out many of my dreams, but my goal posts are still changing and I don’t see that as a bad thing. There’s no reason not to continue to add to that bucket list of dreams. Nice house, kids, getting fit, those cute shoes, the next holiday, that crazy adventure, seeing that play, going back to uni, tackling a new recipe etc etc etc.

If you want to help me get to my ‘Happily Ever After’ place as far as travel is concerned, you can vote for me in the Biggest Baddest Bucket List competition. Just click on the badge below and use the green ‘vote’ box to the right of my video entry.

Vote for me

This post was developed in response to today's Daily Prompt.

10 responses to “Happily Ever After?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  4. How do I vote for you? I pinned it, does that count or is that just something else entirely? Haha, sorry, I’m making a muck of it, but I wanted to help out. I’m happy to tweet it too if I can double vote… if that even is voting. I’m hoping I’m not missing some giant “VOTE” clicker button somewhere on that page… :)

    • hey no you are doing the right thing if you’re using the pinit links within that green vote box to the right of my video. the ones further up the page aren’t linked to my entry. oh and you can vote as many times as you want – so any social media platform is brilliant. thanks so much for the support!!!

  5. Pingback: and the winner is… | thematticuskingdom

  6. Pingback: Zen as a Frog | Adventures of an Aussie Girl in London

Leave a Reply

The Various Topics

Previous Ramblings

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 786 other followers

Some of the Blogs I Follow

Gluten Free Rosie

Nutrition & Health From a Gluten-free Perspective

Eat Travel 'n' Photograph

Pray is not my thing, love is not something am going to write about...

draliman on life

Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think

Raised from Scratch

growing up outside the box: alternatives to processed food and television

OMNIRAMBLES

by @dfergpr

Descent into Dotage

A light-hearted view of life's ups and downs.

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

Change is Good......Right???

A mix of recipes and stories to help make a healthy change easier

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

johnnieshelpdesk

here to help

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 786 other followers

