Growth, London, Constant, Relief

In response to today’s Daily Prompt (my first one yet) I write the following…

They said: Write down the first word that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

Use those words in the title of your post.

I said:

… home: London.

This surprised me a little as I would have thought the first thing that would pop into my head would be Australia or more specifically, my home town (Ballina). I guess I really have been here long enough to call it home.

… soil: growth.

Probably quite obvious but they did say the first word! I guess so much comes from the earth that I always think of growth.

… rain: constant. End of  drought /relief.

Two thoughts came into my head simultaneously when I saw this word. The rain in London has been fairly constant over the Christmas period and now it’s snowing steadily, covering the world around us in beautiful white. Which is so much more pleasant than the rain, but really it’s all water.

But also, where I grew up rain is so incredibly important, with a long-standing drought only recently in Australia’s past and news of bush fires and extreme heat waves I couldn’t help but think of the rain as somewhat of a saviour.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/daily-prompt-free-association/

3 responses to “Growth, London, Constant, Relief

Leave a Reply

The Various Topics

Previous Ramblings

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

Some of the Blogs I Follow

Gluten Free Rosie

Nutrition & Health From a Gluten-free Perspective

Eat Travel 'n' Photograph

Pray is not my thing, love is not something am going to write about...

draliman on life

Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think

Raised from Scratch

growing up outside the box: alternatives to processed food and television

OMNIRAMBLES

by @dfergpr

Descent into Dotage

A light-hearted view of life's ups and downs.

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

Change is Good......Right???

A mix of recipes and stories to help make a healthy change easier

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

johnnieshelpdesk

here to help

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

